Cunningham Heavin Ltd is an architectural practice based in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. We are passionate about community led placemaking and design and the delivery of well considered, high quality, budget-driven projects. Our combined design and technical experience make this possible. Collectively, we have worked on existing heritage buildings, primary, secondary and higher education projects, large scale and small scale residential projects in the UK and Ireland.


Gary Cunningham, Architect & Co-Founder


After graduating from the University of Dundee in 2012, Gary worked for ADP Architecture in Oxford before relocating to London to work for Cartwright Pickard. He graduated from the University of Westminster in 2016 after completing his RIBA Part 3.

Gary is interested in intervening with and restoring existing heritage buildings and the possibilities of community-led regeneration. Gary was involved in the major refurbishment of the Grade II listed Lambeth Town Hall in Brixton, completed in early 2018 and the widely celebrated grassroots campaign Save Leith Walk in Edinburgh. He leads our UK and Ireland projects.

Gary is based in Edinburgh. He is a He is a part-time tutor at the University of Dundee, visiting critic at the Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture and sits on the Edinburgh Urban Design Panel.


Louise Heavin, Architect & Co-Founder


Louise graduated from the University of Dundee in 2012 to work for ADP Architecture in Birmingham, Coady Partnership in Dublin and McCrossan O’Rourke Manning Architects in Tullamore before co-founding Cunningham Heavin Ltd in 2017.

Louise’s interests lie in rural development, education and community-led regeneration. Louise was project lead on the Oldfield Primary School in Maidenhead and has completed a number of residential projects across Ireland. This includes a one-off house and a number of large-scale residential developments. Louise is an accredited PSDP and leads our Irish projects.

Louise is based in Athlone and is a Green party councillor for Athlone Westmeath.